Skip to content

Blogging – How Rude!

September 9, 2012

"thoughts from the corner"

‘Manners maketh man’. . . and, of course, woman.

I once gave that quote out as a GCSE English question – how horrible is that! Actually, it produced several excellent pieces of work. Some students took it as a Descriptive Essay and others approached it as Persuasive Essay.

I remember my grandmother saying ‘Manners maketh man’ to me, in quite a stern tone, when I was knee-high to a grasshopper. I didn’t understand it at the time but over the years I have come to realise just how much wisdom there is those three words.

"private tuition"

‘Manners Makyth Man’: the motto of New College School, Oxford (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I had been thinking of the subject of manners when that saying came to mind. Recently I received a comment about my blog. The comment pulled the blog apart and purported to give me advice on why the blog would not attract followers. The comment concluded with something to the effect of, ‘I have told you this for your own good, don’t be offended and no hard feelings.’ I then received another communication from someone else. It said something like, ‘Don’t be offended by “x” – he/she has a sharp tongue but means well.’

So what to make of all that? The blogging world is, generally, one of niceties where posts are ‘liked’ and positive, constructive comments of posts are left. The attitude of my fellow blogger, conveyed to me that he/she considered that he/she was responsible for blogs which didn’t quite ‘hit the mark’ and the acerbic comments were there to make things right in the blogging world.

I took the comments onboard and pondered as to why this person had been so overtly aggressive, rude and critical of my scribblings. I came to the conclusion that ‘Manners’ do indeed maketh the man. Manners do not cost anything and should be used wherever and whenever possible. What a better place this world would be if those who were overly-fond of speaking their mind would do so with due consideration of others.

I was discussing this incident with my mother. She heard me out and then recited a poem. The poem had been written in a book, presented to her by her class teacher, more than sixty years ago. I think we can all learn from it:

A wise owl lived in an oak

The more he saw

The less he spoke

The less he spoke

The more he heard

Why can’t we be like that old bird?

Another essay subject for my one to one English tutoring classes? Why not!

"one to one english tutoring"

From → Blogging

2 Comments
  1. I hate to quote from movies, but I once heard this: “Good manners are a sign of respect for the other people in the room.” Indeed.

    • Not sure which film that was but I think it applies to ‘real’ life. Thank you for following my blog I have also followed yours.

Leave a Reply

