Skip to content

Blogging Eats Your Time

September 23, 2012
"private english tuition"

Thoughts From The Corner

I thought being a private English tutor was time consuming but the Blogging Bubble is a regular Time-Crunchin’-Munchkin.

"blogging"

Blogging Eats Your Time

Pre-blogging I preped. my lesson, travelled to the student’s home, gave the lesson, returned home. Time out of my day certainly but look at what happens now:

*    Sit at the computer

*    log into WordPress

*    check notifications and read blogs I am following

*    check my blog statistics

*    check emails

*    thank bloggers for liking my posts and check out their blog – maybe follow them also

*    thank new bloggers for following me and check out their blog – maybe follow them also

*    check out ‘Freshly Pressed’ and maybe have a look at one or two – perhaps some likes and some comments

*    Finally make a decision to take to take off my shoes, put my slippers on and make a cup of tea.

Slippers on and a cup of tea – ahhh. . .

With my slippers on and a ‘cuppa’ at hand now is the time to add a post to my blog. The rough copy has been penned previously in the day and is lurking in my back pocket on a scruffy piece of folded A4.

As I stated in the title ‘Blogging eats your time’. The problem is that that blogging is such an endlessly-fascinating world; it is so easy to become absorbed and lost in its maze. Virtual becomes reality and reality becomes virtual as my surroundings recede and the clock marches relentlessly onwards.

"one to one home tuition"

The clock marches relentlessly onward

There is a traditional Chinese proverb which says:

Do not forget to take your wife when you move house

I interpret this as a warning not to get so involved in something that you neglect some of  the important things in your life.

"private english tuition"

Don’t forget the important things in life

I am sure the Chinese words of wisdom apply to me – do they apply to you? There are a lot of very prolific bloggers in the Blogging Bubble, some bloggers put on several posts daily. No problem with that if that’s what they want to do with their time.

My problem is ‘Me and My Time’. . . The Time-Crunchin’-Munchkin that is blogging must be reined in and brought under control. I love writing and my followers are slowly increasing in number. I also really enjoy the blogs of those that I am following.

But. . . Aye, there’s the rub, I have left my wife behind – metaphorically speaking!

English: Monkeys Blogging Español: Simios blog...

English: Monkeys Blogging Español: Simios bloggeando (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

From → Blogging

3 Comments
  1. Anne Philpott permalink

    Good one! xxx

    Date: Sun, 23 Sep 2012 07:52:38 +0000 To: philnorm1@hotmail.co.uk

  2. After 5 months of blogging, I can totally relate. Although I normally submit only two posts a week, it’s so easy to get lost in the blogosphere, following and commenting on interesting blogs. Now I just need a solution. Speed blogging, it seems, is out of the question.

  3. Thank you for your likes and follow – much appreciated. I see parallels here. I started blogging in May – about five months ago. I normally submit two posts per week and I’ve just had a quick look at some of your images – nice! I also love photography – http://gossamerimages.smugmug.com/DEAN%20NIXON – if you can find time. . . I’m going to click on ‘Follow’ now. Let me know when you find that solution. . .

Leave a Reply

