Skip to content

Blogging Aboard the Good Ship WordPress

January 1, 2013

In May I started this blog with the intention of writing about my experiences as a private English tutor.

Yesterday (31st Dec.) I published my blog statistics provided by WordPress. Looking at them I feel pleased with the success of my efforts. ‘Success’, I know, is relative. The number-crunching statistics of my blog pales into insignificance compared to the numbers achieved by some. However, from my desire to write about a single subject (a minority subject at that) I have ‘collected’ 24 friends as followers. With most of those I have engaged in meaningful and interesting comments. To all of those I give hearty thanks – you have made my life richer and more interesting during the past seven months.

Every follower I receive is a highlight of my blogging career but if I must chose choose one highlight that stands head and shoulders above the others, it is being nominated ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ by MittensKittens. Totally unexpected I pass on a very grateful thank you to Ms. MittensKittens. I proudly display the award on my blog but apart from that I am not sure what to do with it. Somehow, I feel it is deserving of more.

The low point of my blogging existence has to be the comment I received a lady (I use the term advisedly) that criticised my blog – nay, ripped it apart is a more accurate description. I got the impression that she thought she was some kind of self-imposed ‘Blog Police’, there to ensure certain standards were maintained throughout the blogsphere. I followed her ‘written lashings’ with a post on life in the blogging bubble and bad manners

English: Monkeys Blogging Español: Simios blog...

English: Monkeys Blogging Español: Simios bloggeando (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So what of the future?

i.     More posts – definitely. I would like to spread my metaphorical blogging wings and alight on a cocktail of this-‘n-that that reside outside my original brief of private tuition.

ii.    To continue to dip into an eclectic number of blogs: to follow some, to comment on some, to like some.

Do the above sounds like New Year resolutions? Perhaps they are.

Finally, I would like to thank the crew of the good ship WordPress for sailing such a smooth vessel through the unchartered waters of the blogosphere.

Finally finally – A Happy New Year to one and all.

From → Blogging

4 Comments
  1. I saw somebody in my reader that had 50,000 views this year, and someone else who is apparently just under a million. Insane!
    Looking forward to reading some new posts this year, and that feeling of what to do with an award must be universal – I feel that about mine, too.
    Anyway, good to meet your blog this year 🙂

  2. It’s nice to make connections with people who share similar interests and great ideas. I look forward to this year!

  3. Yay! I finally had time to sit down and read some of your posts. I love your blog already, and I’m looking forward to exploring it even more. I think you had a wonderfully successful year. To me, just being brave enough to put stuff out there is a struggle, so I think anyone who manages to do that, consistently and with an engaging and clear voice, is hugely successful! Congrats on your Blog of the Year nomination. That is fantastic!

    Anyhow, just wanted to wave “hello” and let you know I’m happily clicking the “follow” button. =D

    • Thank for clicking ‘follow’ but more importantly thank you for your kind words. Sometimes it is possible to be brave (just as little) hiding in a virtual world where you are somewhat anonymous. Note that I do not put on a photograph out there – that might come eventually. Most of my material has been linked to my private tuition but I do plan to expand that this year. I am currently writing a novel, so one or two ‘Writing’ posts will appear. Many people are doing this about novel writing but after all, there are no new stories just new ways of looking at them; hopefully I can provide new ways to keep my posts interesting. Good luck with your blog – be brave, keep pushing them out there.

Leave a Reply

