Skip to content

Private English Tutor Passes On Lovely Blogger

March 6, 2013
"private english teacher"

One Lovely Blog Award

Daniel Day-Lewis received his Oscar for ‘Lincoln’  about the same time as I did this ‘One Lovely Blog Award’. That was what probably pushed this blog off the front pages around the world. No hard feelings Daniel (even if I do have more blog awards than you do Oscars).

Thank you Pete Denton -Writer for the award. We hadn’t been following each others blogs for long when he nominated me; so it was with genuine surprise that I received his notification. The world of blogging is full of surprises and it just goes to show that although you are alone pounding the keyboard there are fellow bloggers out there that are ‘keyed in’ to what you are doing. Pete Denton’s last post celebrated his 40th  – Happy Birthday!

The Rules of Acceptance:

Thank the person/people who nominated you and link back to them in your post. 

Share seven possibly unknown things about yourself. 

Nominate fifteen or so bloggers you admire. Never been too keen on rules: You’re getting 5 :)

Contact the chosen bloggers to let them know and link back to them. 

7 possible unknown facts about me

i.    When emails became all the rage I refused to open mine up at the college where I worked – when I eventually had to because no one was using the old ‘Pigeon Hole’ system I had hundreds and didn’t know what to do with them!

ii.    The last few years I have spent far too much time on the computer – suprising really in the light of i. above.

iii.   I had a place place to study Economics at Wolverhampton (England) and rejected it to start again and study English – good move!

iv.   Probably the most awesome moment of my life was standing on the deck of the expedition ship at dawn, on my own, listening to the penguins in Antarctica the first morning there.

"private english teacher"

Awesome – can you hear the penguins?

v.    When I look at the world’s problems I have more sympathy for animals than people.

vi.   I read a great quote recently which went something like: ‘I don’t particularly want to live a long life but I’m in no hurry to go yet – That sums up my attitude to my time here’.

vii.  I don’t understand how some blogs gave many thousands of followers.

5 Bloggers I Admire

The five below are: bloggers I have had contact with over a period of time, who have taken the time to  exchange comments with me, who do not have hoards of followers, who do not seem to have been awarded many awards (although they might have refused them), who have an amazing ‘joie d’vivre’ that comes over in the posts, whose work I admire – one of those for each of the blogs below. I won’t say which comment above goes with which blog below but if you have the time to check them out you may be able to sort it out.

i.    Being June

ii.   Nanny-cool

iii.  Archaic Sugar

iv.   Luna Starla’s Dreamy Stories

iv.   Egyptian Streets

 
From → Blogging

22 Comments
  1. Congratulations – I do enjoy your posts and I generally know that all is well with the world when your ~”like” notification comes thro’. It’s always the first one of the day.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment.

      I usually post weekly and three out of the last four have been passing on awards – they do seem like buses don’t they?

      Next week should be back to. . . well, whatever grabs me this week.

      Love your posts also. Short, sharp and consise.

  2. Wow, having penguins as a wake up call must have been amazing. It is one trip I have always wanted to do, but the cold just puts me off. I need someone to invent impenetrable thermals!

    • I went in a February and it wasn’t that cold. Hovering around zero or just dipping under. Not much different than here in England the last few months. Don’t let the cold put you off – the cost maybe but not the cold.

  3. So sorry that Mr. Day Lewis took all your glory! Was looking forward to seeing you on the front page!

    • Probably just beginners Irish luck. However, anyone who can paint with their left foot can’t be all bad!

      • Too brilliant a reference to ignore! I can’t find that movie anywhere, apparently they don’t sell it any more.
        Anyway well done on your award 😀

  4. Thank you for accepting the award and the birthday greeting though I’m slightly older than the 4-0.

    Wow to the penguins. That must have been an awesome feeling. They were probably chuntering about another boat disturbing their nap time.

    I think the blogging followers can be misleading. I know some people link their facebook, twitter and blog followers into one. If you see someone with 4,000 followers that might be the reason why. Or they could just have been blogging a while and built up a following 🙂

    Congrats again and happy blogging 🙂

  5. Thank you for the nomination. I’m still discovering this wonderful world of bloggers and would love to participate and nominate writers that I admire. I will definitely be checking out the link to other writers you admire. 🙂

    • Thank you for your nice comment. I hope you enjoy the other sites. I wonder how many sites are really looked at through the awards?

  6. Thank you so much for the nomination it means a lot. I will be reading all the blogs you recommend and will answer properly tomorrow. Thanks x

  7. Yay!! Congrats on your newest award! It’s well-deserved, as you do have “one lovely blog”. 🙂

    I loved reading all of your interesting facts. (I also have a hard time figuring out how some blogs have thousands of followers. It’s one of the great mysteries of the universe. LOL)

    • Thank you for your lovely comment.

      One blooger told me that numbers from Facebook followers, etc. go to make up the thousnads (tens of thousands!) – still don’t get it. . . .

      • Hmmm. That could be true re: Facebook, Twitter, etc. Still, I don’t quite get it. Then again, I’m pretty much a “failure” by FB standards, as I only have 57 “friends”. (Which I think is a lot, all things considered. But it seems teeny in the internet world.)

      • Haha I can beat you. I have 33 Facbook ‘friends’. But I guess if I never look at it, it is about all I can expect! Much happier with WordPress.

  8. Just wanted to thank you again for the nomination! I have checked out a few of the other blogs (and yours) and I am glad to say it was definitely worth-while! I’ll be responding to the ‘rules of acceptance’ in the coming days – at the moment I have a lot of stuff going on! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

