Skip to content

Private English Tutor Chews on. . . Blog Awards

March 13, 2013
"private english tutor"

Thoughts From The Corner

Good or bad, welcome or unwelcome, a feather in the cap or a pain in the arse?

inspiring blogger

Being a private tutor you never know what’s around the next corner. Being a blogger on WordPress you never know. . . yes, you got it. . . what’s around the next corner.

Ten months into my blogging career, well more a pastime than a career but you know what I mean. I have been awarded several different blog awards (one of them twice) and I am extremely grateful that my efforts are being recognised and appreciated by my peers.

Upon receiving the said awards I fulfilled the rules with due diligence. When the awards specify eleven or even fifteen of this and that, it can prove to be a time consuming operation performed with military precision. Then, of course, there is the difficult task placing the award image with its requisite captions, links, etc. Looking at bloggers comments it seems the hardest part is choosing who to send it on to. I must admit, this caused me a lot of thought.

liebster

A Feather in the Cap or a Pain in the Arse?

‘The Inspiring Blogger’ is only sent out to five recipients. Looking through the blogs I followed I chose five that I felt I had learnt a lot from in their writings. They all had a lot of followers i.e. many hundreds and even th0usands. I must add that only one was following me.

Only one (the one following me) actually passed on the award. One sent me a message that read ‘Thanks!’ I was not/am not sure how to take that. Sometimes ‘the devil is in the detail’ and here the detail is the exclamation mark. As an English tutor I deal with the use of this little munchkin in my lessons. Used correctly it can be a powerful beastie. Are we looking at excitement, surprise, shock, sarcasm or more? This blogger did not pass on the award and did not click to follow me. Have I upset this person?

Out of this (small) survey it would seem that those with many followers are not too bothered about receiving awards. I do stand to be corrected though.

Forwarding the ‘Liebster’ and ‘Lovely’ blogger awards proved to be a much more positive experience. I chose bloggers with not so many followers, only two had around 150 and the rest had far less than 100. Some did not acknowledge but the majority seemed extremely grateful although not all those passed the award on. One was grateful and thanked me but said he/she did not wish to participate in the award’s game.

"private english teacher"

One Lovely Blog Award

Interestingly my views and visitors, on the day of passing on the Lovely Blogger Award went bananas. 54 Views and 29 Visitors – up 1/3 over my previous record. So there does seem interest out there when passing on the awards.

As an English Tutor I look at examination results and feel too many grade A’s devalues the piece of paper – is it the same with these blog awards?

Have you had a mixed response from passing on awards? What are your thoughts, feelings, experiences?

From → Blogging

22 Comments
  1. Honestly, the awards were fun when I started out, but they’ve started getting repetitive. I’ve gotten a few awards 3 times and it takes so long to choose people to nominate that it’s become a little bit of a hassle. I feel bad not passing them on like I used to. Although, I think if you have the time and desire to pass it on then feel free because it does bring in my traffic to your blog.

  2. Billie permalink

    It’s a feather on the cap in my eyes. It’s great indeed to be recognized for what you’re writing and even though it’s not exactly the Booker Prize, it is something that you should cherish. Sure, the one who nominated you might not be following you, but I think that people sometimes just forget about clicking the ‘Follow’ button, or they’re too busy with life and other things. Any kind of appreciation is welcome and yes, it does help create a bit of a buzz after being awarded one.

    My own blog has only about 170 followers and I’ve also passed on the one I received from you, but those people did not even react to it, or they’re not following me. It’s a pity because people like you and me want to feel a wee bit wanted and desired in the big world of blogging, and I’ve received very nice comments by friends and family in the real world, and my GP actually gives out the web link to it to some of his patients. I ask them to ‘Like’ the blog post on the blog itself instead of liking it on my two Facebook pages. I see that they liked me on there but then I see that they didn’t even open up the link and read my posts. Sometimes less is more I think; less putting it on FB and advertise it more elsewhere but where do you begin? 😀

  3. I was nominated once and I dutifully fulfilled all the requirements. I don’t think any to whom I passed the baton did anything about it. I have no idea how to get the award logo onto my blog and so I was nominated a second time. I think my first thoughts were of pleasant surprise and grateful that someone cared enough. I suspect more people would participate if the number of categories you have to deal with were to be reduced.

    • Thanks for your comment. Not good that no one passed on the baton. I think they should have at least thanked you and just said they won’t be playing the game. I was brought with the ‘manners don’t cost anything’ adage. ‘Please and Thank you’ being the absolute minimum, then on to holding open doors for people who are passing through, ladies first, etc. No excuse for bad manners! Yes, old fashioned and proud of it. . .

      Here are instructions for getting your award on your site. Rather like being a member of the Harley club or the Chapter of the Hells Angels, wear it with pride.

      Okay – here goes.

      i. Copy and paste the award picture from into your media gallery. Problems? Try to save picture to your computer – perhaps in pictures. On you blog dashboard find ‘Media’ then ‘Add new’. Then upload picture to your gallery.

      ii. Open up your Gallery/Library. Click on picture. Picture enlarges and on right side of screen where it says ‘File URL’ you need to copy that. MAKE SURE you copy all the URL – it will end in jpg.

      iii. Then on your dashboard click on ‘Appearance’ and then click on ‘Widgets’. Slide a widget over where you want it to be.

      iv. Open up that widget and fill in the boxes as follows:
      ‘Widget Title’ put name of award
      ‘Image URL’ – past in the url you should have copied into your mouse (point ii. above)
      ‘Caption’ – put Awarded by http://www.experiencedtutors.wordpress.com – this just my example
      ‘Width and Height’ put 200 for each of those
      ‘Link url (when image is clicked)’ put http://www.experiencedtutors.wordpress.com – the web address of who gave it to you.

      v. Click on ‘Save’ and ‘Close’

      Check your blog – if picture is missing it is because you didn’t copy all of the url – make sure it does end in jpg.

      You did ask – kind of. . .

      I hope it is clear. Please don’t hesitate to get back to me if it isn’t happening.

  4. I am guilty of over-using the exclamation mark, on occasion, not because I want to express sarcasm, rather because I was trying for a friendly ‘voice’. Likewise the dreaded smiley. Goal for next month is use less of both.

    I’m a non-experienced blogger, so it was nice to get the Leibster award. But fewer categories, and fewer number of persons to pass the award to, would have made it less like a chain email (pass this to 50 people for extra good luck!) and more like the recognition it should be. So I took the liberty of rewriting the award rules. One person has accepted, one took the time to explain they don’t participate, and another has said thanks (with exclamation mark).

  5. I like receiving these awards. It’s nice to know that people are aware of my blog to the extent that it will spring to mind when they need to nomiate blogs that they enjoy.

    I also like the fact that I get to recommend blogs that I enjoy to others and do my bit to extend their readership, even if it is by a tiny amount.

  6. I use my phone and iPad most of the time and have been at both my daughters recently so have not had the chance to go on my laptop and sort the awards but it is on my to do list and think I am home now for a few days so will get on the case. I am very sorry for the delay and I really am very very happy to get the award. X

    • iPad eh? You really are Nanny Cool.

      Looking forward to your award post.

      • I had 3 awards so got them all completed tonight. I could not get the awards in my widget picture on the side of my blog though, any ideas? What is a correct URL ?
        Many thanks Nanny Cool

      • I saw your post and was going to send these instructions to you.

        Rather like being a member of the Harley club or the Chapter of the Hells Angels, wear it with pride.

        Okay – here goes.

        i. Copy and paste the award picture from into your media gallery. Problems? Try to save picture to your computer – perhaps in pictures. On you blog dashboard find ‘Media’ then ‘Add new’. Then upload picture to your gallery.

        ii. Open up your Gallery/Library. Click on picture. Picture enlarges and on right side of screen where it says ‘File URL’ you need to copy that. MAKE SURE you copy all the URL – it will end in jpg.

        iii. Then on your dashboard click on ‘Appearance’ and then click on ‘Widgets’. Slide a widget over where you want it to be.

        iv. Open up that widget and fill in the boxes as follows:
        ‘Widget Title’ put name of award
        ‘Image URL’ – past in the url you should have copied into your mouse (point ii. above)
        ‘Caption’ – put Awarded by http://www.experiencedtutors.wordpress.com OR who ever sent you the award.
        ‘Width and Height’ put 200 for each of those
        ‘Link url (when image is clicked)’ put http://www.experiencedtutors.wordpress.com – OR web address of who gave it to you.

        v. Click on ‘Save’ and ‘Close’

        Check your blog – if picture is missing it is because you didn’t copy all of the url – make sure it does end in jpg.

        You did ask!

        I hope it is clear. Please don’t hesitate to get back to me if it isn’t happening.

      • Not sure I should admit to this but these are the instructions I followed lol I think I will give up now and have another try tomorrow. I have completed the main things and got all the awards on my blog. Did a few changes that I could. I would like to change 3 pages into posts! Any ideas how to do that?
        Thank you. Nanny Cool x

      • Sorry don’t know about changing pages into posts.

        However, I see you have everything but the picture on the sidebar.

        You are missing that bit about copy and paste the image url. Be sure you copy all of that. After clicking Edit in your picture library it will be on the right hand side.

        The url you can see is not all of it. It disappears out of the little oblong box. Make sure you copy all of the url to the end – it will have jpg at the end.

        You are almost there.

        Good luck.

  7. Personally, I loved receiving your vote of confidence. (I hope I thanked you … I thought I had, and I apologize most sincerely for my rudeness if I neglected to do that.) I enjoy getting any of these awards, just because I never thought anyone would read my blog at all, much less like it enough to think fondly of it.

    But — I am very, very, very slow at passing the awards along. It takes me a long time to collect my thoughts in order to do it. And, sometimes, to make sure other blogs fit the award criteria. I’m super pokey. =( Sometimes, I also worry about offending people — something that never occurred to me at first, but, after I passed along the first award I received, I realized not everyone is happy to get a shout-out. I still figure anything driving even a little bit more traffic to one’s blog is a good thing, but … Yeah. The fear monster lurks in there, somewhere, eating all my self-confidence.

    (Also, with the last two or so awards I received, I struggled with a depression episode, which didn’t help things any. I’m still trying to catch up a bit from that.)

    • Thank you for your lovely comment. Here is the reply you sent me:

      ‘Congrats on your nomination. It’s well deserved, as your blog is truly wonderful!

      Thank you so much for thinking of me, too! I’ll have to get my act together so that I can figure out this whole thing and not make a hash of it all. ^.~’

      I know you always reply and comment and I do enjoy our little chats so please don’t worry.

      I love your writing so please don’t let the self-confidence thing get you there. You do have a talent in that department.

      Looking forward to reading your award post when you get around to it – no rush, remember.

  8. First of all congratulations on your awards. They are well deserved. Initially I accepted awards gratefully, followed the time consuming rules, then suffered the luke warm response when nominating others. I also felt that I didn’t want to bore followers with posts containing 7 things they didn’t know about me…again! I also did a post, like you, about how bemused I was over blog awards. Frankly, I still am. Accept them in the spirit with which they are meant.

Leave a Reply

