Skip to content

Private English Tutor Whips up Enthusiasm for B.D.S.M.

March 20, 2013
"private english tutor"

Thoughts From The Corner

Eight weeks ago this private tutor sent tremors of flesh-smacking anticipation around the literary world by announcing, here on this blog, that I was 20,000 words into my first novel.

I didn’t have a title then but now it’s become abundantly clear, like a pea-souper on a chilly Victorian London evening, the title will be ‘Seeing Unseen’. I can tell you’re impressed, rather like my primary/elementary teacher was when I informed him I wanted to be a leader of people. . .  So, a working title of ‘Seeing Unseen’ it is.

However, once again, I digress; back to the title of this post. Recently I decided that I would send my main character off for a new experience – new to both him and me. This past year has seen huge amounts of excitement whipped up about the ’50 Shades of Grey’ trilogy. ‘That’s it!’ thought I in of those Eureka! moments, as I splintered the end of the pen I was chewing. I’ll send him off for a bit of B.D.S.M. ‘What a spanking good idea’, me thought.

Then the penny dropped. Not only have I never experienced any kind of crops, whips and paddles but I didn’t even know what B.D.S.M. was short for. Potentially I was up the creek without a paddle at the first hurdle. That was where the internet came into its own. I was able to read, view and even price-up nipple clamps, furry handcuffs and testicle ticklers. So no actual visits to leather-clad, whip-yielding, bottom-spanking beauties for research by this author – unlike my main character who ventured, discovered and experienced. He gets all the good jobs while I stay chained to the laptop!

What a fantastic resource the World Wide Web is. When this aged and grizzled private English tutor was little more than a spotty-faced teenager at university many, many hours were spent in the university library – although it has been said there is something faintly erotic about sniffing those aged brown pages. . . the computer screen doesn’t really have the same attraction, does it?

Now I am 40,000 words along the road of insatiable desire that will send me to heavenly bliss, I must Steele myself for the second 40,000!

Still wondering what B.D.S.M. stands for? Try this for size. . .

bdsm

From → Writing

22 Comments
  1. Yes – Seeing Unseen – crystal clear title, I’m impressed. However, I really think that for the sake of literary accuracy you really should experience that of which you write. Come on, in your profession, there must be someone who’ll oblige you??? 🙂

  2. Fantastic and intriguing title! This post made me laugh. I particularly loved “what a spanking good idea”. Brilliant! 🙂

  3. Hmmm. BDSM – no idea, but I like the colours… I agree with writeonthebeach – after all, research is everything! Nice post 😉

  4. Excellent use of language and puns!

    One of the joys of writing is that we often get to experience new things along with our characters 😉

    • Thanks for your comment.

      Have to wait and see what ‘Toys’ Santa brings before I can commit myself to joining my character. . .

  5. Just make sure to keep clearing your history, who knows what cookie trail you may be leaving!!

    • ‘cookie’ is that the name for a ‘Toy’ I haven’t heard of before? I’ll have to send my character out on another fact finding expedition. . .

  6. Great post. Glad I found your blog! I will be back for more updates! Keep doing what you’re doing!

  7. Oh…My….Goodness! Okay, but does your character survive his journey into the dark and seedy side of the internet? Hmm…love the title and keep me updated. I want to read the book when you’re done.

  8. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it
    for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from.
    many thanks

    • Thank you the compliments.

      The theme is the one that WordPress gave me when I first created the blog. It is called ‘Titan’. I simply made use of the widgets (on the right side side) to add things such as blogroll/Twitter and the awards I have received from other bloggers. I do try to brighten up my posts by adding pictures.

      When your blog is up and running please come back to me, perhaps we could ‘Follow’ each other.

      All the best.

Leave a Reply

