Skip to content

‘Too Good to Keep to Myself’, says Private Tutor

July 3, 2013
"private tutror"

Thoughts From The Corner

What is this life if full of care

We have no time to stand and stare?

For several years I have been a member of ‘Staffordshire Wildlife Trust‘. A fabulous organisation that safe guards some of precious open spaces here in Staffordshire, England. Even this private English tutor needs the occasional break from marking examination papers, so I took myself off to the trust’s HQ. Only thirty five minutes drive from home, it sits on the River Trent in twenty two wonderful acres that puts the ‘human’ back into human being.

This beautiful little piece of middle England is too good to keep to myself, so I thought I would share it with you.

"private english tutor"

There are greens and reds and yellows and blues and whites and pinks.

There are squirrels and birds and ducks and swans.

There are noises of birds and of running water and. . . Sshhh! Don’t move. There’s a robing watching me as I write this.

"private sociology tutor"

Robyn the robin watching the blogger.

Sitting writing this, on the boardwalk, I look down the River Trent and see a flotilla of ducks resplendent with little ducks heading towards me.

"private sociology tuition"

Little ducks head the flotilla of big ducks

A short walk away I watch as Mr and Mrs Swan head towards me with their offspring.

‘Mum mum. Look at my wings. Look mum. Look look.’

Close by is a small wildlife garden.

wildlife garden

‘Can’t find the wildlife garden. Can you Jemima?’
‘Got to be here somewhere Donald.’

Inside the wildlife garden bird feeders attract a multitude of birds, including a woodpecker that was too fast for this aging private tutor to photograph. 🙂

I almost missed this one as well!

Got him this time!
There’s life in this old dog yet!

As I sit in the sun, looking down the River Trent, I run through these wonderful words by W.H.Davies:

What is this life if full of care

We have no time to stand and stare?

No time to stand beneath the boughs

And stare as long as sheep, or cows.

No time to see, when woods we pass,

Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

No time to see, in broad daylight,

Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,

And watch her feet, how they can dance.

No time to wait till her mouth can

Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this, if full of care,

We have no time to stand and stare.

Will you take time out of your busy schedule this week to stop and stare? Come on, join this private tutor.

From → Blogging

14 Comments
  1. Lovely photos ET and thanks for the poetry. It’s the type of poem that everyone knows the first line but not how it continues. Hope you feel suitably refreshed and ready to do battle with the exam scripts.

    • Thank you.

      Final run in now for the scripts.

      You’re right about famous first lines. I’ve always like that one: ‘I wandered lonely in the crowd’. Great poem.

  2. That’s just beautiful. Thank you

  3. What a wonderful post! You’ve outdone yourself this time, my friend. Loved every pic (even the camera shy woodpecker) and the captions are so spot on!

    This is truly a little piece of heaven in your middle England and I can see why people work to protect it. Here in hot, steamy, Florida, we also have our wildlife preserves…only ours are filled with snakes and gators. But, you take what you can get!

    Great job, Private Tutor!

    • Thank you Mrs McMahon. With all the projects you have on the go didn’t think you would have time for lil’ ol’ me.

      Keep up the good work and your toes out of those gator-filled creeks. 🙂

      • I’ve got you on e-mail notification…have to keep up with my buddies! Thanks, I’ve still got all the toes. I leave the gators alone, and so far, they ignore my toes.

  4. Couldn’t agree more! I’m getting more into standing and staring (metaphorically speaking, of course -I don’t want to get in the way!). In fact, I’ve just re-read one of the essays my grandfather wrote about a day’s fishing in his favourite haunt – complete with kingfisher encounter – and am relishing the imagery he shares. Thank you for the lovely photos

  5. Anne Philpot permalink

    Poem takes me back to learing it at school and its still as relevant and true.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. thoughts from the corner| Welcome to a new friend: experiencedtutors | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

Leave a Reply

