Skip to content

‘There’s No Place Like Home’, says Private Tutor

August 7, 2013
"private tutror"

Parkhall Countryside Park at Dawn

I am a private tutor that has ventured outside of my home village.

Born in England, I have had a look at places as far a field as China and Antarctica and a few places in between. As number 3 in my mini-series of posts about my local area, I will look at my favourite place in the whole wide world. 🙂

Parkhall Countryside Park is less than ten minutes walk from my front door. Isn’t it strange that you can wander thousands of miles, meet many wonderful people, have more incredible experiences than you can shake a stick out but there’s no place like home? Why is that?

Taken on a frosty February dawn, with the moon gradually disappearing, the image above shows a group of rocks at Parkhall that have no significance to followers of stone circles throughout Britain. Well, I’ve never seen naked druids dancing around them on a frost February dawn anyway. The wreath (bottom left) has been put there in memory of someone. I have had many quiet, atmospheric  dawns at Parkhall. The tranquility is such that, although I know all the right words I cannot put them in the correct order to describe the place at that time of the day. The experience transcends my writing ability.

"privte english tutor"

I do not always have the place to myself; the sun is rising as the rider crosses my path.

History of Parkhall – Skip to photographs below if you find history boring. 🙂

1449 – Earliest mention as a deer park, owned by the Cuney family

17th century – used for agricultural use and tree planting by the Parker family

19th century – drift coal mining and sandstone quarry

1939-70 – quarrying of sand then used as a rubbish tip

1971 -1977 Stoke-on-Trent City Council and Staffordshire County Council made it into the area it is today.

1981 – 333 acres of trees, shrubs, grass, wild flowers and water made available to the public.

"private sociology tutor"

Wild Orchids at Parkhall

Exposed by quarrying, it is possible to view river-lain deposits of sequences of sandstones and pebble beds put down over millions of years. So important is the site it has been designated a Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI). In 2002 this part (Hulme canyon) received National Nature Reserve (NNR) Status, one of the very few NNR’s in Britain designated for their geology.

Hulme Canyon

"one to one tuition"

Hulme Canyon

Parkhall contains an abundance of the beauty of nature: Little Owl, Kestrel, Green Woodpecker, heather, gorse, Silver Birch, Scots Pine, dragonflies, rabbits, foxes, etc.

"sociology dissertation tutor stoke on trent"

Fox Prints in Fresh Snow on a Beautiful Winter Morning

My favourite place in my favourite place is the small pond below. Unfortunately the little wooden bridge has now gone.

"private english teacher stoke on trent"

My favourite place in my favourite place.

My favourite place, at my favourite time of the year doing my favourite type of photography produced these three images.

"private tutoring stoke on trent"

parkhall 6

15 03 08

I don’t know what type of bird it was but I was sure I heard it chuntering, ‘Shouldn’t private tutors be in bed this time of the morning?’

‘What’s he doing here at this time?’

From → Education

11 Comments
  1. Beautiful images. Thanks for sharing!

  2. This is lovely and the photos are superb. I’m coming for a visit 🙂

    • I didn’t give the bad news. . . the visitor centre was burnt down 18 months ago. The prat also set fire to the horse riding stable a short distance away. There were horses stabled there at the time. No horse were hurt in the writing of this comment. 😦

  3. I’m still coming for a visit. What a beautiful corner of the world to call home.
    My holiday photos are almost sorted, and some will be posted probably this weekend!

  4. Beautiful photos!

    • Thank you. You may want to check out today’s post for other images. Can’t really fail with such wonderful scenery – providing I remember to take off the lens cap. 🙂

  5. Billie permalink

    Envious is what I would describe myself now! Fantastic countryside! Soooo love the English countryside! 😀

Leave a Reply

