Skip to content

Pinterest – Useful or Useless?

March 24, 2014

Yes, I joined.

Two years ago (this coming May) I started this blog, joined: Pinterest, Goodreads, Reddit, Stumbleupon, Facebook, Linkedin and Tumblr with Twitter coming a year later.

Why the headlong rush into social media? Simple, I wanted to write a novel.

I want to write a novel.

I saw regular blog writing as a way to train myself to write on a daily basis and perceived wisdom indicated that social networking sites were necessary to get my novel out to the big wide world once ready to market.

Does all that seem cold and calculated? Yes it does.

So here I am, two years later, the proud owner of a multitude of useful/useless (delete as applicable) networking sites and in possession of an 80,000 word manuscript. Has my original plan been a success?

Well, kind of.

Although I haven’t really had that much time to network (writing a novel remember. . . ), I do have more virtual friends than real ones (How sad is that?) but I haven’t set the networking world on fire. As for the novel – well, it’s taken countless hours over 18 months and is still only a manuscript, not a physical product sitting on the shelves of bricks and mortar book shops or even sitting on virtual shelves for e-book readers to download in their 10s/100s/1000s/10s of 1000s – delete as applicable.

Will my book sit on a book shelf?

I KNOW! I KNOW! Stop shoutin’ at me. . . I’m getting around to the Pinterest question that I opened with. Bear with me while I meander through this social network maze. 🙂

So where does this all leave me in the marathon succinctly termed ‘novel writing’?

To be perfectly honest with you – I’m not sure. With regards to the novel, I am within a gnat’s todger of contacting editors in an attempt to employ one. With regards to Stumbleupon, Facebook, Linkedin and Tumblr I simply click the button at the bottom of my blog post and send it to those sites. Goodreads I tune into occasionally and write a short review of the book I have just read. As for Reddit, I couldn’t get along with it, so I just ignore it. This blog I have put time into and post regularly.

Getting to know you with social media

That brings us around to Pinterest. So, is it useful or useless? Meaning, will it help me with regards to my novel?

In the past 2 years I have gained a few followers on Pinterest – 5! I guess that if I haven’t been playing the game – I can’t complain. However, all that is now about to change. I have read that it can be a powerful weapon in the armoury of a self-publisher.

So this is my cunning plan. 🙂 I am going to have a board (that’s what they do over on pinterLand) dedicated to my novel. I intend to provide an image plus a quote/description from a piece of the novel week by week. I will reveal, bit by bit, an outline of the narrative. I can’t promise any cliffhangers such as we used to get at the conclusion of each Batman episode but I think it will fun – although ‘fun’ is probably not the correct word for the subject matter of my novel. Titled ‘Seeing Unseen’, it could perhaps be summed up as cyberstalking leading to an underage relationship.

I will include a link to the Pinterest board every time I post to this blog – usually weekly. Please feel free to follow on Pinterest, let me know and I’ll happily follow you also.

The link is: http://gb.pinterest.com/privatetuition/seeing-unseen-a-novel-by-dlnixon/

From → Writing

15 Comments
  1. I wish good luck for you!

  2. I have to admit to really disliking Pinterest, but I know so many people who love it. I just don’t see the point. Maybe I need to spend more time there or something.

    • I’ll let you know sometime in the future. I like the relaxed way of clicking on images but I’m not sure if that’s a good use of my life. . .

  3. I have had an aversion to Pinterest, seeing it as a time eating monster. But wait, if people are spending their time on MY time eating monster page, then that would be good, right? Anyway, I plan to give it a go. I am researching it now. Wish me luck!

  4. I’ve only recently joined Pinterest and was surprised that you were meant to follow and be followed. I just use it as a scrap book for ideas and research. Using it as a self promotion tool? I shall watch with interest.

  5. I’m not hugely into Pinterest but I’m a new novelist and I’m on it. I have even fewer followers than you but my agent thought it a good idea. I suspect the main plus is that people may search for an image and thereby find you and your novel.

    • I’m not sure if it will help but I’m enjoying myself playing around with it for the time being. I guess any of the social networking sites can help if used the correct way. How else can reach so many people? The problem, as always, is time. Not enough hours in the day to just network – the novel would never get written! Good luck with your writing.

  6. Well, your board now has one more follower! Good luck with your novel.

  7. Thank you. I’ve just followed your blog. Can’t promise to read every post (that Time thing again!) but I’ll do my best to tune-in as often as I can.

  8. Thanks, I’ve been wondering what the little icon meant. Now you’ve got me interested, I’ll try and look you up. Does this mean I can drop my underused twitter account, I wonder…

    • Not sure what you mean by ‘little icon’. Is it the Pinterest icon?

      I would hold on to your Twitter account. It does seem to be a powerful networking tool. I am finding that it is now driving traffic to my blog and (If I’ve got time!) I find many useful ‘things’ on it. Of course, all depends on how much time you have this ‘Time-Sucking’ thing we call Social Media. I use it to get work as a private English tutor but I am also using it to (hopefully) marked my forthcoming novel. The worst that can happen is that I waste a couple of years of my life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

