Skip to content

Pinterest Creates More Interest than BDSM

March 31, 2014

In my last post I posed the question, ‘Pinterest – Useful or Useless?’

Throughout the last week I have received an above average number of views for the post. In fact, ‘Pinterest’ created more interest than when I included ‘BDSM’ in my post. 🙂

I have decided to use Pinterest to layout the skeleton of my forthcoming novel – ‘Seeing Unseen’. The subject matter deals with cyberstalking which results in an underage relationship. Heavy subject matter maybe but very relevant to today’s society.

Throughout the past week I have spent a few minutes daily, following boards on Pinterest and pinning images to my boards. My following has risen from 5 to 21. Through the haze of social media mist, I assume that is good but I don’t really understand why. I am not convinced that those followers will keep returning to look at my pins. I would welcome your opinion on that.

What has been interesting is that I have thoroughly enjoyed myself. It is a kind of ‘no-brainer’ looking at pictures, many with wonderful quotes, and clicking ‘Pin’ so that they transferred to one of my boards. It’s bright and it’s cheerful, far less intense than reading blog posts.

The board that I am laying my novel on is called ‘Seeing Unseen’ and garnered 12 followers. Will they return to view the progress of my novel as I pin? Who knows. . .

Like all forms of social media, it takes time to ‘cultivate’ a loyal following. One week is too short a time to gauge interest, so onwards and upwards into week two.

I have pinned the opening sentence of my novel to the following board:

Please click above, take a trip across there and follow if you have half an interest. The Pinterest link you see above does not contain the board description or comments beneath each image that I include.

 

 

From → Writing

4 Comments
  1. stuckinscared permalink

    I’m new to pinterest myself and agree with you ‘What’s not to like’….I’m having a ball over there and if it increases readers of my blog in the process – Bonus! ….Happy pinning 🙂

  2. You’d be surprised. As your pins ear in your followers’ ‘home feeds’, the don’t need to physically return to your bard. It’s all there in their home page!

Leave a Reply

